All photos and text © chilvers coton centre trust 2011 unless stated otherwise Registered Charity No 1001665 Registered Company No 2305461
The Museum houses an eclectic collection of objects and memorabilia relating to Nuneaton's past. Much of the collection has been donated by residents and visitors to the Centre, some we have acquired through negotiation and is now on long term loan.
We house the largest collection of Stanley Brickworks castings and moulds in Britain, as well as large collections of payrolls and office ledgers rescued before the works were demolished.
Much of Stanley's paperwork is now held at the Warwickshire County Archive where it is still being catalogued and archived. We have assembled a large collection of moulding tools from the 19th and early 20th centuries as well as tools from the extractive industries which flourished in Nuneaton from the 17th century onwards.
The Victorian Schoolroom with its ancient wooden desks, the Headmistress's Parlour with its inglenook fireplace and stove are part of our interactive Victorian Schoolday experience for schools.
Nuneaton suffered during the war and we have a collection of artefacts from that time as well as a wealth of information on the bombings of May 1941 when Nuneaton suffered numerous casualties and fatalities.
We have a wide range of documents and photographs accessible through our computers which are available groups and individuals doing research, whilst our collection of local maps is one of the best in Warwickshire.
Some of the items in the museum